TO THE MEMBERS OF SPELTHORNE BOROUGH COUNCIL

SUMMONS TO MEETING

You are hereby summoned to attend the ANNUAL MEETING OF SPELTHORNE BOROUGH COUNCIL to be held in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, Council Offices, Knowle Green, Staines on THURSDAY 16th May, 2002, beginning at 7.30pm, for the purpose of transacting the business specified in the Agenda set out on the next page.

MICHAEL TAYLOR Chief Executive

	Criiei Execu	uve

EMERGENCY PROCEDURE

Please Note:-

In the event of an emergency the building must be evacuated. All Members and Officers should assemble on the Green adjacent to Broome Lodge. Members of the Public present should accompany the Officers to this point and remain there until the Senior Officer present has accounted for all persons known to be on the premises.

THE LIFT MUST NOT BE USED.

AGENDA

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR

- (a) To elect the Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2002/2003.
- (b) The Mayor to make the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

3. MINUTES

To confirm as a correct record the Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Council held on 14th May, 2002. **(to follow)**

4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

- (a) To elect the Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2002/2003.
- (b) The Deputy Mayor to make the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

5. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

To receive any declarations of interest from Members in accordance with the Council's Code of Conduct for Members.

6. ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE MAYOR, THE LEADER OR THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

7. ELECTION OF THE LEADER AND THE DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

- (a) To elect the Leader of the Council for the Municipal Year 2002/2003.
- (b) To elect the Deputy Leader of the Council for the Municipal Year 2002/2003.

8. THE EXECUTIVE UNDER THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 2000

(a) Establishment of the Executive, its size and terms of reference:-

To agree the appointment of an Executive of 6 members comprising the Leader and the Deputy Leader and 4 other councillors to be appointed at (b) below, with the terms of reference set out in Part 3 (a) of the Council's Constitution.

(b) Appointment of members to the Executive:-

In accordance with Article 7 of the Council's Constitution, to appoint 4 councillors to act with the Leader and the Deputy Leader as the Executive.

(c) Portfolios for members of the Executive:-

To agree which members of the Executive should hold the following portfolios:-

(i) Community Safety and Community Liaison, (ii) Adult and Elderly Services, (iii) Children and Young People Services, (iv) Environment and Planning and (v) Corporate Services.

9. COMMITTEES

Establishment of Committees, their size and terms of reference:-

In accordance with Articles 6, 8 and 9 of the Council's Constitution to appoint the following Committees, with the terms of reference set out in Part 3 (a) of the Council's Constitution, and for the Democracy Committee the terms of reference agreed by the Council on 21st February 2002:-

Committee	Total Voting Members**
Community Committee	11
Economic Committee	11
Environment Committee	11
Planning Committee	13
Licensing Committee	7
Standards Committee	7
Democracy Committee	9
Staff Appeals Committee	5

(ii) Allocation of Seats on Committees:-

Pursuant to Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 to agree the representation of the different political groups on Committees. The Council is advised that the following allocation of seats would meet the requirements of Section 15(4) of the Act:-

Committee	Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Total Council Members
Community Committee	7	3	1	11
Economic Committee	7	3	1	11
Environment Committee	7	3	1	11
Planning Committee	9	3	1	13
Licensing Committee	6	1	0	7
Standards Committee	3	1	1	5**
Democracy Committee	6	2	1	9
Staff Appeals Committee	4	0	1	5

^{**}Note: (1) The political proportion rules do not technically apply to the Standards Committee, but the Council has agreed that all groups should be represented on the Committee.

(2) Two members of the Standards Committee are non-councillors.

(iii) Appointment of Members to Committees:-

To appoint Members to serve on the Committees appointed, including two non councillors, Mr. Murray Litvak and Mr. Chris Tamlyn to serve on the Standards Committee.

10. CHAIRMEN OF THE FIVE AREA FORUMS

To appoint a Chairman for each of the five Area Forums, as follows:-

(1) Ashford, (2) Shepperton, (3) Staines and Laleham, (4) Stanwell and Stanwell Moor and (5) Sunbury.

11. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SPECIAL INTEREST PANELS

To appoint Members to serve on Special Interest Panels. The current Members are, as follows:-

Arts and Heritage Panel: Councillors L.J.W. Burrell, J.M. Fullbrook, Mrs. M.J. Martin and Mrs. I. Napper

Environment Panel: Councillors C.M. Fisher, G.E. Forsbrey, A.P. Hirst, J.E.H. Smith and G.F. Trussler

Health and Community Care Panel: Councillors C.M. Fisher, J.M. Fullbrook, Mrs. I. Napper, Mrs. G.A. Norcross, Mrs. P.A. Smith and G.F. Trussler

Sports and Leisure Panel: Councillors Mrs. P.C. Amos, Mrs. I. Napper, J.M. Paton and R. Watkins

The nominations for Appointments to the Executive, Committees, Area Forums and Special Interest Panels will be circulated as soon as they are available from the Group Leaders.

12. DISCRETIONARY HOUSING PAYMENTS REVIEW BOARD

To appoint all Members of the Council, except those appointed to the Executive, to form a Panel from which Discretionary Housing Payments Review Boards can be drawn, as necessary.

13. APPOINTMENTS BY THE COUNCIL TO OUTSIDE BODIES

To appoint representatives to serve on the following outside bodies:-

South West Middlesex Crematorium Board (1 representative and 1 Deputy)

(2) Surrey County Districts Film Licensing Joint Committee (2 representatives)

The nominations for Appointments to Outside Bodies will be circulated as soon as they are available from the Group Leaders.

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON 14TH MAY 2002 BOROUGH OF SPELTHORNE

At the Special Meeting of the COUNCIL of the Borough Of Spelthorne, held in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, Knowle Green, Staines on Tuesday, 14th May at 7.30pm

Agarwal V	Hirst A P	Ponton Mrs J E
Amos Mrs P C	Hyams Mrs M	Read E I J
Appleyard M A	James P R	Searancke E J

Beardsmore I J Leedham Ms A Sider R W (Deputy Mayor)

Burrell L J W Martin Mrs M J Smith J E H
Crabb T Mellett Mrs H E L Smith Mrs P A
Culnane E K Napper Mrs I Smith-Ainsley R A

Davies F Norcross Mrs G A Stubbs T
Drinkwater H V O'Hara E Trussler G F

(Mayor)

Fisher C M Packman J D (Deputy Leader) Weston Mrs P

Forsbrey G E Paton J M Wood-Dow Mrs J M

Grant Mrs. D L

Councillor H.V. Drinkwater, Mayor, in the Chair

133/02 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors F. Ayers, G.G. Blampied, G.S. Ceaser, J.M. Fullbrook and A.W. Hermes.

134/02 MINUTES

The Minutes of the Meeting held on 25th April, 2002 were approved as a correct record.

135/02 APPOINTMENT OF CHIEF EXECUTIVE AND HEAD OF PAID SERVICES

The Council considered the minutes of the Appointments Committee held on 8th and 9th May, 2002 recommending the appointment of Ms Karen Satterford, currently Director of Environment at Wokingham Unitary for the post of Chief Executive and Head of Paid Services. Ms Satterford was then invited to address the Council and answered questions raised by Members.

RESOLVED that the recommendation of the Appointments Committee be approved and Ms Satterford be appointed as the Council's new Chief Executive and Head of Paid Service.

(Members requested that it be recorded that the motion was approved unanimously by all Members present at the meeting).

136/02 GWT CONSULTING - RECRUITMENT CONSULTANTS

The Mayor, on behalf of all members, placed on record the Councils appreciation to Mr Bob Trigg and Mr Bob Gunning from GWT Consulting for the professional way they had dealt with the appointment, including assisting members with the interview process.

⁻ Council Agenda and Minutes