MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON 18th NOVEMBER 2002

BOROUGH OF SPELTHORNE

At the Special Meeting of the Council of the Borough of Spelthorne, held in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, Knowle Green, Staines On Monday 18th November at 7.30pm

Agarwal V	Fisher C M	O'Hara E
Amos P.C.	Forsbrey G E	Packman J D (<i>Deputy</i> <i>Leader)</i>
Ayers F.	Fullbrook J M	Paton J M
Beardsmore I J	Grant Mrs D L	Ponton Mrs J E
Blampied G G	Hirst A P	Read E I J
Ceaser G S (Deputy Mayor)	Hyams Mrs M	Searancke E J
Crabb T	James P R	Sider R W (<i>The Mayor</i>)
Culnane E K	Martin M J	Stubbs T
Davies F (Leader)	Napper Mrs I	Trussler G.F.
Drinkwater H V	Norcross Mrs G A	

Councillor R.W. Sider, The Mayor, in the Chair

APOLOGIES: Councillors Mrs H.E.L. Mellett, R.A. Smith-Ainsley and Mrs P. Weston.

316/02 MINUTES

The Minutes of the Meeting held on 17th October 2002 were approved as a correct record.

317/02 DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS

Councillors V. Agarwal and E.J. Searancke disclosed their personal interests in the following item because they were employees of British Airways.

318/02 FUTURE DEVELOPMENT OF AIR TRANSPORT IN THE UNITED KINGDOM

The Council considered the recommendation of the Executive on the Future Development of Air Transport in the United Kingdom.

Under Standing Order 16.4, the Mayor consented to speeches by Members, where necessary, exceeding five minutes in length but to not exceed ten minutes in length.

It was moved by Councillor F. Davies and seconded by Councillor J.D. Packman:-

- "1. That the Council reaffirms its opposition to further runway development at Heathrow.
- 2. That the Council agrees the draft response to the consultation document on the future development of air transport in the United Kingdom as set out in appendices A and B to the Report of the Director of Community Services to the Executive on 18th November 2002."

An Amendment was moved by Councillor T. Stubbs and seconded by Councillor P.R. James:-

"That in respect of Appendix B, page 36, question 19 and answer 19 of the Report of the Director Of Community Services to the Executive on 18th November, the response be amended to read:-

'The principle of the five-yearly cycle of the reviews can only be reluctantly accepted. The Government should work with the industry towards eliminating the need for those reviews to continue.' "

The clarity of the wording of the Amendment was questioned, as it was felt that it might not achieve the purpose intended. The Leader, Councillor F. Davies, accepted the principle of the Amendment and asked the Officers to revise its wording to ensure that the meaning was properly conveyed in both the minutes of the Council meeting and the response document.

The Amendment was carried.

In accordance with Standing Order 18.4 a recorded vote was requested. The voting was as follows:

For: Mrs P.C. Amos, F. Ayers, I.J. Beardsmore, G.G. Blampied, G.S. Ceaser, A.W. Crabb, F. Davies, H.V. Drinkwater, C.M. Fisher, G.E. Forsbrey, J.M. Fullbrook, Mrs D.L. Grant, A.P. Hirst, Mrs M. Hyams, P.R. James, Mrs M.J. Martin, Mrs I. Napper, E. O'Hara, J.D. Packman, J.M. Paton, Mrs J.E. Ponton, E.I.J. Read, E.J. Searancke, R. W. Sider, T. Stubbs, and G.F. Trussler,

Against: Mrs G.A. Norcross.

Abstentions: V. Agarwal and E.K. Culnane.

The Amendment was again put as the Substantive motion and was carried.

RESOLVED: -

- 1. That the Council reaffirms its opposition to further runway development at Heathrow.
- 2. That the Council agrees the draft response to the Consultation document on the Future Development of Air Transport in the United Kingdom, as set out in Appendices A and B to the report of the Director of Community Services to the Executive on 18th November 2002, as amended: -

"Spelthorne believes that night flights at Heathrow should be phased out. The principle of the five-yearly cycle of the reviews can only be reluctantly accepted. The Government should work with the industry towards eliminating the need for those reviews to continue."

In accordance with Standing Order 18.4 a recorded vote was requested.

For: Mrs P.C Amos, F. Ayers, I.J. Beardsmore, G.G. Blampied, G.S. Ceaser, A.W. Crabb, F. Davies, H.V. Drinkwater, C.M. Fisher, G.E. Forsbrey, J.M. Fullbrook, Mrs D.L. Grant, A.P. Hirst, Mrs M. Hyams, P.R. James, Mrs M.J. Martin, Mrs I. Napper, Mrs G. A. Norcross, E. O'Hara, J.D. Packman, J.M. Paton, Mrs J.E. Ponton, E.I.J. Read, R. W. Sider, T. Stubbs, and G.F. Trussler,

Abstentions: V. Agarwal, E.K. Culnane and E.J. Searancke.