MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON 26 JULY 2007 BOROUGH OF SPELTHORNE

AT THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE SPELTHORNE BOROUGH COUNCIL HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNCIL OFFICES, KNOWLE GREEN, STAINES ON THURSDAY 26 JULY AT 7.30PM

Ayers F. Bain Miss M.M. Bhadye S. (Deputy Mayor) Bouquet M. L. Budd S.E.W. Colison-Crawford R.B. Collis M.J. Flurry K.E. Forsbrey G. E. Grant Mrs. D.L.

Hirst A. P. (Mayor) Hyams Ms. N.A. Jaffer H.R. Kuun C.D.G. Leighton Mrs. V.J. McShane D.L. Nichols L.E. O'Hara E. Packman J.D. (Leader) Pinkerton J.D. Pinkerton Mrs. J.M. Rough Mrs. M.W. Royer M.T. Sider R. W. Smith-Ainsley R.A. (Deputy Leader) Spencer Mrs. C.L. Thomsan H.A. Trussler G.F. Weston Mrs P.

Councillor A.P. Hirst, The Mayor, in the Chair

260/07 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Ted and Allison Culnane, Rosemary Fox, Ken Hartley, Alan Walker, Councillors K. Chouhan, C.A. Davis and Mrs. I. Napper and Mr. Murray Litvak.

261/07 APPOINTMENT OF AN HONORARY ALDERMAN OF THE BOROUGH

In the light of the Council resolution contained in Minute 211/07 of the Council Meeting held on 21st June, 2007, the Council convened this Special meeting to consider the adoption of a resolution pursuant to section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972, to confer the Title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Spelthorne upon Frank Davies.

It was moved by Councillor J.D. Packman, seconded by Councillor R.A. Smith-Ainsley, endorsed by Councillor R.W. Sider and

RESOLVED that we, the Mayor and Councillors of the Borough of Spelthorne, in pursuance of Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972, do hereby confer the Title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Spelthorne upon Frank Davies in recognition of the eminent service rendered by him to the Council.

As a former resident of Ashford, and as a leading Borough Councillor for 28 years until May 2007, Frank Davies has given so much to the local community through his Council work and consummate care and dedication towards enhancing the quality of life and well being of local residents both now and in the future.

In 1996, as Chairman of the former Health and Housing Committee, he was instrumental in driving forward the Large Scale Voluntary Transfer [LSVT] of the Council's Housing Stock to the Spelthorne Housing Association.

As Leader of the Council and Chairman of the Executive for eight years until May 2005 he demonstrated his many personal qualities, in particular his Community leadership skills and financial acumen, which has left the Council debt free.

(The motion was approved with all bar two of the Councillors present and voting, voting in favour of the motion, and there were two abstentions by Councillors R.B. Colison-Crawford and L.E. Nichols, respectively)

We accordingly admit Frank Davies to be the third Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Spelthorne.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor J.D. Packman, on behalf of the Borough Council then paid tribute to Frank Davies for the services he has rendered to the Borough. Personal tributes were also made by Councillor R.W. Sider and by Councillor E. O'Hara. The Mayor, Councillor A.P. Hirst, then invited Frank Davies to sign the Roll of Honorary Alderman after which the Mayor presented him with a framed scroll as a record of his formal appointment as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Spelthorne.

At the Mayor's invitation, Honorary Alderman Frank Davies then addressed the meeting.