Agenda Item: 2

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON 19 MAY 2009

BOROUGH OF SPELTHORNE

AT THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE SPELTHORNE BOROUGH COUNCIL HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNCIL OFFICES, KNOWLE GREEN, STAINES ON TUESDAY 19 MAY 2009

Ayers F. Hirst A.P. Pinkerton Mrs J.M. Bhadye S. (Mayor) Hyams Ms N.A. Pinkerton Jack .D. Bouquet M.L. Leighton Mrs V.J. Rough Mrs M.W. Crabb T.W. McShane D.L. Rough S.J. Davis C.A. Napper Mrs I. Sider R.W.

Dunn Mrs S.A. Nichols Mrs. C.E. Smith-Ainsley R.A. (Deputy Leader) Flurry K.E. O'Hara E. Spencer Caroline (Deputy Mayor)

Forsbrey G.E. Packman J.D. (Leader) Thomson H.A.

Grant Mrs D.L.

Mr Murray Litvak – Chairman, Standards Committee Miss Sue Faulkner - Vice-Chairman, Standards Committee

Councillor S. Bhadye, The Mayor, in the Chair

140/09 RECORDING OF MEETING

The Mayor, Councillor Sooryadeo Bhadye, announced to all present that this Special Council meeting was being recorded as a trial for the planned commencement of recording of Council meetings with effect from the Council AGM on 21 May 2009.

141/09 WELCOME

The Mayor welcomed to the meeting the special guests from the Mauritius High Commission, London, His Excellency Mr Abhimanu Mahendra Kundasamy, High Commissioner and Mr Haymandoyal Dillum, Deputy High Commissioner.

He further welcomed the special guests from Grand Port Savanne District Council, Mauritius, Mr Radhakrishansingh Rajkoomar, Chairman, Councillor Mr. Ahmad Nooranee Gunglee and Mr Shyam Teeluck, Acting Chief Executive.

He also welcomed the Leader of the Council, Councillor John Packman, other Councillors, the Chief Executive and his staff and the Business, Community and invited guests.

142/09 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from David Wilshire MP and Councillors Mrs E.M. Bell, Ms. P.A. Broom, R.B. Colison-Crawford, H.R. Jaffer, C.D.G. Kuun, L.E. Nichols, M.T. Royer and G.F. Trussler.

143/09 TWINNING ARRANGEMENTS BETWEEN SPELTHORNE BOROUGH COUNCIL AND GRAND PORT SAVANNE DISTRICT COUNCIL, MAURITIUS

The Mayor advised that the Mauritian High Commission had invited the Spelthorne Borough Council to form a Twinning Link with Grand Port Savanne District Council, Mauritius and that this Special Council meeting had been called to enable Members to

SPECIAL COUNCIL, 19 May 2009 - Continued

consider a formal proposal to proceed with this further Twinning Link. In 2010 the Spelthorne Borough Council would be celebrating the 20th anniversary of the successful twinning link with Melun in France. The invitation from the Mauritian High Commission to form a further Twinning Link with Grand Port Savanne District Council was a welcome opportunity.

It was proposed by the Leader of the Council, Councillor John Packman, and seconded by the Deputy Leader, Councillor Richard Smith-Ainsley, that Spelthorne Borough Council accepts the invitation from the Mauritian High Commission to enter into a Twinning Link with the Grand Port Savanne District Council and agrees to sign the formal Twinning Link Charter.

The Leader addressed the Council to express the Council's support and visions for the proposed Twinning Link with Mauritius, based on friendship, co-operation, exchanging of ideas and establishing solid relationships of mutual benefit.

At the invitation of the Mayor, His Excellency Mr Abhimanu Mahendra Kundasamy, High Commissioner of Mauritius and Mr Radhakrishansingh Rajkoomar, Chairman of Grand Port Savanne District Council addressed the Council to express their visions for the Twinning Link.

Councillor T.W. Crabb, on behalf of the Members of the Liberal Democrats Group, explained to the meeting the reasons why the Liberal Democrats did not support the Twinning proposal and would therefore be voting against it.

After debate by Members it was:

RESOLVED that Spelthorne Borough Council accepts the invitation from the Mauritian High Commission to enter into a Twinning Link with the Grand Port Savanne District Council and agrees to sign the formal Twinning Link Charter.

In accordance with Standing Order 21.4, a request was made by Councillor T.W. Crabb for the voting on the Twinning proposal to be recorded. The vote was Carried as follows:

FOR (22)	Councillors J.D. Packman, R.A. Smith-Ainsley, F. Ayers, S. Bhadye, M.L. Bouquet, C.A. Davis, K.E. Flurry, G.E. Forsbrey, Mrs. D.L. Grant, A.P. Hirst, Miss N.A. Hyams, Mrs. V.J. Leighton, D.L. McShane, Mrs. I. Napper, E. O'Hara, Mrs. J.M. Pinkerton, Jack D. Pinkerton, Mrs. M.W. Rough, S.J. Rough, R.W. Sider, Mrs. Caroline Spencer and H.A. Thomson.
AGAINST (3)	Councillors T.W. Crabb, Mrs. S.A. Dunn and Mrs. C.E. Nichols.

144/09 (A) OFFICIAL CEREMONY FOR THE SIGNING OF THE FORMAL TWINNING LINK CHARTER BETWEEN SPELTHORNE BOROUGH COUNCIL AND GRAND PORT SAVANNE DISTRICT COUNCIL, MAURITIUS

The Mayor, Councillor Sooryadeo Bhadye, and the Chief Executive, Roberto Tambini, and the representatives from Grand Port Savanne District Council, Mauritius signed the

SPECIAL COUNCIL, 19 May 2009 - Continued

formal Twinning Link Charter between Spelthorne Borough Council and Grand Port Savanne District Council, Mauritius.

(B) SPONSORRSHIP FOR NEW BOROUGH ENTRY SIGNS

In order to publicise and reflect the new Twinning arrangements with Mauritius, new entry to Spelthorne road signs would be installed at all main entrances to the Borough. The new entry road signs were being paid for by generous sponsorship from many of the Council's key partners. A2Dominion Housing Group, BP International, Sunbury, Kempton Park Racecourse and the Princes Club had already agreed their sponsorship of these signs in time for this Special Council meeting, and discussions were also at an advanced stage with several other business partners.