• Calendar
  • Committees
  • Constitution
  • Decisions
  • Election results
  • ePetitions
  • Forthcoming Decisions
  • Forward Plans
  • Library
  • Meetings
  • Outside bodies
  • Search documents
  • Statistics
  • Subscribe to updates
  • Your councillors
  • Your MPs
  • Your MEPs
  • What's new
  • Work to do
  • Committee structure

    Planning Committee

    The Planning Committee comprises 15 councillors and is responsible for deciding planning applications and related matters which have not been dealt with by Council staff under delegated authority. The Planning Committee meets every four weeks.


    The Leader is responsible for appointing the deputy Leader and lead councillors and will allocate their areas of responsibility. Together they form the Cabinet.


    The Council is made up of all 39 Borough Councillors and is responsible for a number of key functions which include setting the Council's annual budget, major policies and council tax levels each year. The Council meets on six occasions each year and is chaired by the Mayor.

    Licensing Committee

    The Licensing Committee comprises 15 councillors and is responsible for discharging the Council's licensing functions under the Licensing Act 2003 and the Gambling Act 2005. The Committee also deals with the licensing of taxis and private hire cars, street trading, food and water safety, health and safety, animal establishments and street and house collections. The Licensing Committee is scheduled to meet every four weeks if necessary.

    The Licensing Sub-Committee conducts hearings mainly in respect of contested applications under the Licensing Act 2003 and Gambling Act 2005.

    Members Code of Conduct Committee

    The Members Code of Conduct Committee comprises 8 borough councillors and 2 independent (non-voting) co-opted members of the public. It is responsible for promoting and maintaining high standards of conduct by councillors and any co-opted members of the Council. The Committee will also hear and respond to any alleged cases of misconduct.

    Audit Committee

    The Audit Committee is made up of 7 councillors and its main purpose is to give independent assurance to elected members and the public about the governance, financial reporting and performance of the council. It also scrutinises the Council's financial management and reporting arrangements and provides an independent challenge to what the council has in place. The Audit Committee oversees a number of control strategies such as corporate risk management, the authority's governance arrangements and assurance statements, and anti-fraud and anti-corruption arrangements. It helps raise the profile of these issues within the Council, as well as providing a forum for the discussion of issues raised by internal and external auditors. In this way, it enhances public trust and confidence in the financial governance of a local authority.

    Overview and Scrutiny Committee

    The Overview and Scrutiny Committee comprises 15 non-Cabinet councillors who together discharge the functions of overview and scrutiny (as conferred by Sections 21 and 21A of the Local Government Act 2000 and regulations made under Section 32 of the Local Government Act 2000), as a critical friend in relation to the development of policies and strategies to meet local needs and in relation to service delivery and performance management.


    The Overview and Scrutiny Committee is also the Council’s designated crime and disorder committee under Section 19 of the Police and Justice Act 2006.

    Leader's Task Group

    Community Liaison Group